1. PURPOSE:  
    1. EMGS would like to provide further updates on the bulletin issued on 30th July 2020 regarding the process involved for existing International students from Public and Private Higher Education Institutions to enter Malaysia. 
    2. Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob announced on 1st September 2020 the Malaysian Government will not allow long-term pass (including Student Pass) holders from India, Indonesia and the Philippines to enter Malaysia effective 7th September 2020, following a spike in COVID-19 cases in their respective countries. The decision was made to prevent the spread of more imported cases in to Malaysia.
    1. All Existing International Students from India, Indonesia and the Philippines that have obtained the Travel Authorization from the Director General of the Immigration Department of Malaysia through EMGS and obtained a Letter of Approval (Entry Permit) from an accredited Malaysian Mission must make their travel arrangements to arrive in Malaysia by 6th September 2020.
    2. Existing International Students from the countries mentioned above that do not arrive in Malaysia by 6th September will have to wait until the Malaysian Government makes a decision to allow them to enter Malaysia again. The decision will be based on the COVID-19 pandemic situation in their respective countries.
    3. EMGS will also stop processing all Travel Authorization applications received for Exisiting International Students from India, Indonesia and the Philippines beginning 7th September 2020.
    4. Kindly note that the Malaysian Government will continue monitoring the COVID-19 situation in other countries and may impose the same restrictions on citizens of other countries that are recording a spike in COVID-19 cases.


Education Malaysia Global Services

2nd September 2020

Sign up for our Newsletter

Stay up to date upcoming events from Education Malaysia Global Services Community.

Tuan Haji Ismail Bin Mohamed

Tuan Haji Ismail Mohamed sits on the Board of Director for Education Malaysia Global Services (EMGS). He obtains his Bachelor Degree in Business Administration from Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM).

Prior to sitting on the EMGS Board, he was also appointed to be the Board of Director to KEJORA from 2013 to 2018, and several companies such as Permodalan Darul Takzim Sdn Bhd, Perbadanan Usahawan Johor Sdn Bhd, PIJ Holding and Ranhil SAJ Sdn Bhd. Tuan Haji Ismail Mohamed also co-founded Pertama.

He started his career by setting up a company and being the founder of JYBB Enterprise. His career came to prominence when he became the co-founder and the Chief Executive Officer of Pertama Polyerethane Technology (M) Sdn Bhd and subsequently became the Special Officer to the Minister of Education in 2013.

Ismail Mohamed is acknowledged for his expertise in Agriculture and Agro-based industry, landing him being appointed as the Chairman of the Agriculture and Agro-based Industry Committee of the Johor State, the Chairman of Agro KEJORA and the Chairman of the Johor State Agriculture, Agro-based industry, Entrepreneurial Development and Cooperatives Committee.